Caution: New Book Underway

Posted: November 1, 2010 in Writing/Publishing

I love what I do.

Something Stirs is just gearing up for the serious part of the editing process (my editor has a pair of eagle eyes), and I’m hard at work on the next book. It took the better part of a day to get the first page the way I wanted it, but the story really started moving along after that. That’s the weird thing about the way I work. I can stop in mid-sentence, come back the next day and pick up where I left off with the same intensity and train of thought. But I’ve got to get the first page right before I can do anything else. After that, everything seems to fall into place.

I guess if it doesn’t grab me, I shouldn’t expect it to grab anybody else. Plus, if Dean Koontz can revise a page up to 40 times before he moves on, I shouldn’t complain.

All I can say about the new book is that the majority of the action happens in one room over a period of about six hours, but those six hours will change an entire town … and not necessarily for the better.

Leave a Reply

