A New Journey Begins

Posted: January 10, 2011 in books, General, novels, Something Stirs, sonfire media, writer, Writing/Publishing

Most people I know equate being a writer with being a novelist, and while that certainly can be the case, someone has to write everything from the copy on cereal boxes to that annoying junk mail we are always throwing away. Over the past 20 years I’ve written academic study guides, short stories, essays, plays, greeting cards, Bible studies, multi-media projects, commercials, contributed to various fiction and non-fiction anthologies and books and have written some really bad poetry.

It took me 20 years to get the first novel published.

However, Something Stirs is not my first novel. It’s actually novel number six.

  • The first one sucked swamp water
  • The next two stunk
  • Number four was awful
  • The next one was really bad.

So you see … I was making steady progress. In fact, I have resurrected the idea from the really bad one (it was actually a good idea, I just didn’t have the writing chops to make it work back then) and I’ll start writing that book it as soon as I finish the one I am currently working on.

According to my editor at Sonfire Media (Hi Vie) we are just about to finish the final edits, then its on to the galley stage.

After that, it will start popping up on Amazon and stores near you and me.

Then (depending on what happens with book proposal #2) the whole thing starts all over again.

Post Script: My mother recently reminded me that I actually wrote a novel when I was 6 years old. It was titled, Fluffy the Kitten, and was about Fluffy the kitten. Imagine that. The novel was four pages long and she still has it.

It’s a good thing I wrote that one back then. Had I written it today, Fluffy would probably be a thirty foot tall werekitten or some other such creature terrorizing a small secluded hamlet while the community tries to figure out how to defeat it before it eats some little old lady, mangles a scout troop, or uses the sand trap on hole number six at the country club for a litterbox.

And that’s no way for a kitten named Fluffy to act.

<a href=”http://twitter.com/share&#8221; class=”twitter-share-button” data-count=”vertical” data-via=”tsmithwriting”>Tweet</a><script type=”text/javascript” src=”http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js”></script
Comments
  1. Thomas–I am so glad that no chickens were harmed in Something Stirs! You probably didn’t know that your editor is well known for her chicken imitation. Are you snowed in yet? vie

  2. Paula Petty says:

    Thanks for reminding me of the perseverence in writing. Congratulations on your book.

  3. Kevin Neely says:

    How many times were chickens cut up in this book? I remember one of the previous one’s a character cut up the same chicken multiple times… 🙂

Leave a Reply

