Links Every Writer Can Use

Posted: June 30, 2011 in Writing/Publishing

The title sounds like I’m painting with a pretty broad brush, but the fact is there are some basics that every writer needs to know. Publishers look for certain things when dealing with any writer, and those things include proper manuscript format, solid proposals, and a professional manner. And there are many tools (all listed here are FREE) available for the beginning and advanced writer thanks to the magic of the Internet.

This is not an exhaustive or comprehensive list, but it should give you a good place to start.

NUTS-AND-BOLTS BASICS
Proper Manuscript Format: http://www.shunn.net/format/story.html
Non-Fiction Book Proposal Info:  http://bookendslitagency.blogspot.com/2009/01/what-is-book-proposal-for-nonfiction.html
Fiction Book Proposal Info (scroll down to the bottom of the blog): http://cba-ramblings.blogspot.com/2007/12/how-do-you-write-book-proposal.html

RESEARCH & RESOURCES
Research Resources: http://www.stevelaube.com/resources/#Tools
Profnet: https://profnet.prnewswire.com/ProfNetHome.aspx
Help a Reporter Out (HARO): http://www.helpareporter.com
Pitch Rate: http://www.pitchrate.com
Reporter Connection: http://www.reporterconnection.com

FREELANCE MARKETS
Sun Oasis: http://www.sunoasis.com/freelance.html
Freelance Writing: http://www.freelancewriting.com/freelance-writing-jobs.php
Journalism Jobs: http://www.journalismjobs.com
The Write Jobs: http://www.writejobs.com/jobs
Craigslist (there are some good legitimate jobs here, but there is plenty of junk too, so be careful): http://www.craigslist.org/about/sites
Mediabistro (this is a great source for writing gigs and contact information): http://www.mediabistro.com/joblistings
Publishers Lunch Job Board (also a great source for some freelance jobs and company contact information): http://www.publishersmarketplace.com/jobs

SOCIAL MEDIA TOOLS
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com
LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com
Twitter Search: http://search.twitter.com
Tweet Deck: http://www.tweetdeck.com
Tweetbeat Firsthand: http://www.kosmix.com/labs/firsthand
Hoot Suite: http://hootsuite.com
Google Trends: http://google.com/trends
Delicious: http://www.delicious.com
Digg: http://digg.com
Board Tracker: http://www.boardtracker.com

USING THE WANT ADS

Simply Hired: http://www.simplyhired.com
– Search for writer wanted, freelance writer wanted, ghostwriter wanted, etc.
Indeed: http://www.indeed.com
– Search for writer wanted, freelance writer wanted, ghostwriter wanted, etc.

*Note: These are not endorsements and I don’t receive anything from any of the people associated with the links above. It is just good information.

Advertisements
Comments
  1. pmallett67 says:

    Great Stuff, Especially to have at the begining of a new month.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s